July 12: Fooled for the last time

I learned again today that tired, sweaty, excitement can lead to blind repetition of past follies…

It was a very hot day at GBH, but a great one for butterfly watching. I saw a Spicebush Swallowtail (Papilio troilus), Black Swallowtails (Papilio polynexes), Tiger Swallowtails (Papilio glaucus), Fritillaries (Speyeria sp.), American Painted Ladies (Vanessa virginiensis), Coppers (Lycaena phlaeas), Sulphurs (Colias sp.),  and tons of skippers including Little Glassywings (Pompeius verna). As for hairstreaks I saw plenty Edwards’ (Satyrium edwardsii) and Banded (Satyrium calanus) many of which were tattered survivors. I also saw my first Coral Hairstreak (Satyrium titus) of the year.

Satyrium titus_3

Coral Hairstreak (Satyrium titus).

My moment of error came when I saw two dazzling and immaculate hairstreaks that were nectaring at common milkweed (Asclepias syriaca) on the slope. I watched them for at least 30 minutes as they flitted about the flowers and daintily drew in nectar with their proboscises. Any other day, I would have recognized the pale gray-blue background color to the wings and the orange tinge on the internal edge of the post-medial line. But today, I was exhausted from the heat and in high hopes of seeing another Oak Hairstreak. These two were mesmerizingly pristine and since I had just seen an Oak in the same area earlier this week, it was hard not to let my anticipation and desire get the best of me. I even went to the extent of posting the sightings on the MassLep listserv. Sorry about that! In reality these were of course Gray Hairstreaks (Strymon melinus) – distracting yet gorgeous misidentifications.

IMG_8485 IMG_8522I did experience something worse than a misidentification today though. When I reached the summit and made my way to thistle patch which I have spent much time rescuing from the strangling grip of Black Swallow-wort (Cynanchum louiseae), I met a devastating and rather depressing sight. The entire patch had been mowed completely. Not a single flower left! This is a shame because the flowers were in bloom and I did not yet observe many hairstreaks nectaring at them. Members of the Massachusetts Butterfly Club have repeatedly told me that the thistle is one of the most reliable spots to observe many butterflies, including Oak Hairstreaks, so this is a major loss for avid butterfly watchers in the area.

thistle gone_1

The thistle patch where so many butterfly watchers enjoy observing hairstreaks has sadly been mowed.

Leave a comment